Lasagna Moment

Standard

I was talking with someone who was watching me make lasagna (which is an unheard-of food group in China).
As I was making the sauces, putting the layers together, and talking about the wonders of Italian cuisine, I was telling her how sometimes you can use sausage instead of ground beef if you have meat in it.

Except, instead of the word for sausage, 香肠  pronounced “sheeong chong” I kept on saying 长城 (pronounced “chong chung”).

I couldn’t understand why she was trying to clarify until I realized I was saying “Great Wall of China” instead of sausage.

Go figure.

 

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

