School Lunch

Standard

I passed by the preschool/kindergarten the other day as they were unloading things from a truck to the kitchen delivery door.

As I peered into the truck, this is what I saw:

In case it’s not so clear, the contents include zucchini, eggplant, green beans, carrots, potatoes, and salad greens.

What’s missing?

(Hint:  think boxes of frozen things that are heated in the microwave and have a shelf life of forty years).

Here are the ubiquitous leeks and cabbages getting ready for the winter.

My girls both attended here before going to the primary school, and the lunches indeed were rice, vegetables, soups, with eggs and meat (probably pork–it’s the cheapest around here).

They also got water based rice porridge for breakfast.

No, I will NOT let this be a springboard for one of my former soapbox topics of the terrible nutritional quality of American children’s school lunches in elementary school.
All you have to do is download the monthly menu yourself and formulate your own opinion.

2 responses »

  1. I agree. I’m trying to change my own diet as I love such non-nutritional items! 🙂 Never too old to learn better habits!

Leave a Reply

