Sisters

Standard

The picture quality isn’t the best, but these girls had priceless smiles on their faces.
They live together with a number of other children here in town, are orphaned, and have pretty serious physical disabilities.

I see them every week or two.

I often think about the childhood they are not experiencing, and grieve for them.

Yet they are being watched over from above, have their own bonds with each other, and in their own way, have snapshots of joy.

Do any of us really deserve pure joy?

And am I grateful for those moments when I truly experience it?

I have been inspired this week to begin a journal chronicling my One Thousand Gifts, based on a book written by Ann Voskamp.

I plan to enlist the help of my husband and all my kids to make that list grow quickly, adding to it daily.

I haven’t actually read the book yet, but that doesn’t have to keep me from embarking on this journey towards intentionally expressing more gratitude in my life.

These smiles are on that list.

 

6 responses »

  1. You are a joy to me. You heart for God is so wonderful. You do Him proud. You make me want to be a better person. God Bless you and all you do and those things yet to do. Melanie

    • Mel, wish I could drop by your kitchen right about now for a Saturday chat! And drive the Mustang…:) You are a priceless encouragement to me as well. *hugs*

  2. I agree 100%! I am sure I do not deserve the joys I experience but the smiles on children’s faces are some of the best. One of my little ones got a rough start but is now in a great foster home and is blossoming and learning exponentially! He is a true ray of sunshine- so animated! Another one of my little ones informed me this week that they were changing their coffee to crapuccino. Gotta love it! Love and hugs to all!

  3. Deserve Joy? No, ere by the Grace of God I go! Praise God for the small bundles of joy that add up to an abundance of Love, Peace, and JOY! Love you and miss you!

Leave a Reply

