Hospital Follow Up

Standard

I just wanted to clarify a few things about the hospital post.

First, correct myself:  the local pharmacies sell oral antibiotics to the general public without prescriptions, but not injectable.

In addition, I apologize if I sounded overly critical about the system.

I am hoping to describe differences that I observe in my own experiences, with full realization that the US and other western health care systems are fraught with their own challenges and obstacles in their quest to provide care to the populations they serve.

I also realize every moment of every day how many things about this culture I have no clue about.

As someone wisely said soon after we arrived here, “the more Chinese I learn, the less I understand about the culture.
I do not want to deceive you or myself into thinking I have this place figured out.

Every day I live here, and really for the rest of my life on this earth, I will be a student of human nature, culture, language, cross cultural interactions, and the eating of humble pie.

I truly respect the residents of my host country in so many ways.

I have never encountered more hard-working, persistent, and goal oriented people.

People passionate about caring for and providing for their loved ones.

Filling the hospital corridors as they accompany their parents and their children.

Paying whatever it takes to get the job done.

Sitting by their sick relatives’ bedsides, providing food and 24 hour nursing care during often lengthy hospitalizations.

The system and path taken may be different in some ways than the American one, but the goal is the same:  hope that the place you go to for help with a medical problem will guide you in the right direction.

In my own neighborhood, every single day, all winter long, I have spotted the same 50-something man pushing his elderly father in a wheelchair after hauling the whole thing out of his lift-less apartment building.

Nearly every day I see another elderly gentleman, bent over sideways, with a weak leg (probably from a stroke) scooting down the street taking a turn for fresh air.

Sometimes he is sitting on the curb, shoe off, rubbing his foot.

Young moms and dads bending over backwards to help their child get a maximal education.

An older gent riding a bike with a platform in front, where his wife is sitting, bundled up in blankets on a cold evening.

Students roaming the campus outdoor areas when it warms up, reading English out loud to themselves.

Groups of people in the park, outside university buildings, under trees, repeating and reciting English as a crowd.

At 6:00 am.

PS.  What brave soul was on top loading these sacks and tying them down?

 

3 responses »

  1. Our hearts and love are going out to you! We love your observations and your ability to share your life experiences–especially thru this blog! Please keep it up!!!!

  2. You are doing a wonderful job of helping us all learn about a far away country and culture and appreciate that the human experience is just that, not different but the the same for all of us no matter where we are or how we grew up. It is a great uniting factor that we all share the same basic aspirations for ourselves and our children. Thank you, again, for sharing your thoughts and experiences with us. Dad is very proud of you, as am I! Love and hugs!

Leave a Reply

