Cambodia: Passing Through

Standard
Cambodia:  Passing Through

I spent 7 days in Cambodia, traveling through several provinces and cities large and small and just returned on the red-eye 2 days ago.

I’m still trying to recover with excessive amounts of coffee drinking, to no avail.

We were part of a medical team cooperating with local contacts who hosted mobile medical clinics in several rural areas as well as at children’s homes (aka orphanages, but that’s another post).

This collection of pictures is a fleeting impression of the country as we zipped through at breakneck speed.

Prior to traveling I had read a book called First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung, detailing her family’s saga during the Khmer Rouge regime in the 1970s.

I highly recommend the book as an eye-opener about the horrors that were daily life during that period, and which someone else described as “the kidnapping of an entire country.”

I will have to watch Killing Fields soon, I guess.

As we drove through peaceful countryside scenery I was keenly aware that Cambodia still has one of the highest rates of landmines and unexploded ordinances in the world, and that these green fields hid labor camps full of terror for countless children and adults within my lifetime.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses »

  1. Great pictures, Eva! You know you’re tired when coffee doesn’t help! Hope you get caught up on rest, soon. What’s that, you say? Great trip I think. Dad is very proud! Love and hugs!

  2. Wow, pictures are fabulous.. Its like being there and seeing it ourselves and not the hotels and grand places that travel agents send you to, but the real Cambodia and the feel of the people and their land. Thanks for sharing and widening our world.

  3. I am really looking forward to hearing more about your trip there. Would you be interested in writing a guest post for my Social Good Sunday? I think your experience there would be a great post! A few weeks ago I had one on child trafficking in the Ivory Coast. Let me know! If so, you can email me the post with a bio of yourself and photos to: thirdeyemom@yahoo.com.
    Nicole

Leave a Reply

