My Year in Review: Food.

Standard

Most of what I encounter here is pretty good.
I have to admit, I have to walk past several stalls of pickled and brined unidentified nastiness in the market to get to produce and chicken, and I still want to vomit every time.
But I will save those pictures for another time.
I’d rather take pictures of yummy things.

Roasted duck-hands down best ever with horseradish dipping sauce far better than the typical hoisin.

Roasted duck-hands down best ever with horseradish dipping sauce far better than the typical hoisin.

Fancy kim-bop type rolls at a phenomenal Korean restaurant.

Fancy kim-bop type rolls at a phenomenal Korean restaurant.

Spit-roasted lamb.  I salivate at the very thought of how awesome that meal was.

Spit-roasted lamb. I salivate at the very thought of how awesome that meal was.

Assorted sweets at our expat cookie exchange before Christmas .

Assorted sweets at our expat cookie exchange before Christmas .

I have a thing for persimmons these days.  Maybe it's because I love orange.

I have a thing for persimmons these days. Maybe it’s because I love orange.

Candied sweet potatoes and dates, come out with gooey melted sugar.  You dip pieces into cold water so the sugar hardens and crunch down.  Dentists, please skip this one.

Candied sweet potatoes and dates, come out with gooey melted sugar. You dip pieces into cold water so the sugar hardens and crunch down. Dentists, please skip this one.

Streetside steamed mini-dumplings.  It's so picturesque and quintessentially Chinese.

Streetside steamed mini-dumplings. It’s so picturesque and quintessentially Chinese.

One response »

  1. Ok, now I’m hungry! It’s lunch time here but i don’t think I’ll find anything that good in my fridge! New Year’s leftovers are gone. time to break out the peanut butter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

