Study of a corner bike shop

Standard

My Old Faithful was stolen the other day after 6.5 years of service, so I had to go buy a new one since my urban mom bike is my main mode of transportation. 

   
After buying the actual bike, the first next step was to go to one of the many corners where an ancient man has fixed bikes for at least 40 years, and get my child-cum-grocery seat installed. 

Location is everything.

  

I spent about 45 minutes in 10 degree (F) sunshine while he did his work.     

   
Tools of the trade

    
The sign 

    

   

The chair

    

 The hands

  

I asked the obvious, as people do here, don’t your hands get cold?

Of course, he said, and calmly kept on working.

While I stood there, shivering, privileged, warming my hands by the fire.

3 responses »

  1. As always, thank you for sharing your experiences with us! Glad you have wheels again. Will be thinking of this man and this article for a long time. 🙂 Air hugs!!!!! ❤

  2. great pictures! wish tulsa was more biker friendly. there aren’t any usable bike racks at st francis– i though about biking to work and biked all around the hospital parking lots– i did see a free standing bike rack not locked down or attached to anything

Leave a Reply

