A Quick Fix

Standard

  
This precious woman has saved me so much money with her handiwork patching up countless holes in the knees for 50 cents per pair.  

Her shop is one of those nondescript little sheds that looks like a storage barn for tools, and when I first tried to find it I walked past it two or three times before I realized where she was.  

In fact it’s divided in two and another person sells beverages out of the other half. 
In the winter a tiny stove burns wood and it’s relatively cozy. 

There’s almost always another senior sitting in the spare chair shooting the breeze, and they know everybody’s business in that alley for sure.  

As I paid 30 cents for a zipper repair I noticed her lovely manual sewing machine and thought I’d share.

     

2 responses »

  1. Ah, the lost art of repairing instead of throwing away. Miss the shoe shops, etc. around here. At least some computerized embroidery shops do alterations. That sewing machine is beautiful! She will be in my thoughts along with you all! air hugs!!!!! ❤

  2. Eva, my mom had a treadle-operated sewing machine when I was a kid. She made our clothes on it!

      On Wednesday, April 13, 2016 11:51 PM, Chopstix for Six wrote:  

    > soccernorsk posted: ”   This precious woman has saved me so much > money with her handiwork patching up countless holes in the knees for > 50 cents per pair.   Her shop is one of those nondescript little > sheds that looks like a storage barn for tools, and when I f” > >

Leave a Reply

